Brett Favre Headlines 2016 Hall of Fame Class


The NFL’s 2016 Hall of Fame Game will be played on Saturday, August 6th in Canton, Ohio. The Indianapolis Colts and Green Bay Packers will face off, kicking off the NFL preseason. Both teams will be well represented in this year’s Hall of Fame Induction Class.

Legendary Packers quarterback Brett Favre headlines the class, and the Colts’ own Marvin Harrison, the iconic wide receiver, will also be enshrined. Joining them will be Harrison’s coach, Tony Dungy, as well as Kevin Greene, Orlando Pace, Eddie DeBartolo Jr., Kenny Stabler, and Dick Stanfel.

A star-studded cast, to be sure, but Favre is the brightest star. Originally drafted by the Atlanta Falcons in 1991, he is best known for his career with the Green Bay Packers which began the following season. He went to the Pro Bowl his first year in Green Bay, and would go on to be named to ten more. Starting in 1995, Favre won three consecutive MVP Awards and led the Pack to victory in Superbowl XXXI in 1996. After a career that also included coming out of retirement to play for the New York Jets and Minnesota Vikings, Favre retired for good after the 2010 season. He is the all-time NFL leader in pass attempts and completions and was the leader in passing yards and touchdowns when he retired, records since broke only by Peyton Manning.

Manning was able to set such passing records in part because he shared ten seasons with Marvin Harrison as his favorite target. Harrison, an impeccable route runner, teamed with Manning to form a QB / WR combo rivaled by few. Their preternatural timing and Harrison’s ability to get open helped him amass over 1,100 receptions for nearly 15,000 yards and 128 touchdowns. He was named to the Pro Bowl eight times, was a three-time first team All-Pro, and won Superbowl XLI.

That Superbowl, XLI, was the first won by an African-American head coach in Tony Dungy. After making Tampa Bay a perennial threat with his renowned “Tampa 2” defense, Dungy went to Indy and presided over arguably the most successful era of the franchise before finishing his coaching career with 139 wins and that Superbowl XLI ring.

Pace was the longtime cornerstone of a St. Louis Rams offensive line that formed part of the “The Greatest Show on Turf” with QB Kurt Warner, RB Marshall Faulk, and WRs Isaac Bruce and Torry Holt. He helped them win the infamous Superbowl XXXIV. Greene finished his career with 160 sacks, a record for a linebacker.

Stabler, longtime Raiders QB, and Stanfel, a dominant offensive lineman for the Lions, were selected by the Senior Committee. Eddie DeBartolo Jr. was selected by the Contributor Committee, recognizing his successful ownership and management of the San Francisco 49ers who won five Superbowls in his ownership.

Honor these football legends with the best authentic gear from NFL Shop. Browse jerseys, the official 2016 Hall of Fame t-shirt, and a wide collection of collectibles. Shop for everything from a Brett Favre jersey to a wide range of great Favre collectibles and memorabilia. Treat the Colts fan in your life with Marvin Harrison gear. The best place for official NFL gear is the online home of the National Football League at